kt inspiration: colorful kitchen

May 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

I always thought that I wanted a white and gray kitchen. Every picture in my inspiration files is white and gray. The kitchens I save from HGTV on my dvr are white and gray. Clearly, I love them and can’t wait to redo my nastiness of an 80’s kitchen.

But then I saw this today:

{source: collected}

Love the mix of teal and wood here. It actually reminds me of the jaw-dropping kitchen in The Proposal. Well every room in The Proposal house is jaw-dropping. But you catch my drift here. The black backsplash (say that three times fast!) is unexpected and dramatic, and by keeping the cabinets flat or in the classic Shaker-style, it looks modern and elegant…not over the top or kitschy.

I’m not sure we’d ever be brave enough to try this (or give up my dream of the perfect white and dove gray kitchen) but it might be a nice look for a butcher-block countered island!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading kt inspiration: colorful kitchen at the adventures of kt + e.

meta

