book club: the sweetness

March 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Sorry for the delay. I have a million excuses, but RL kicked my butt and work got in the way and that is so super boring.

It’s no secret that I love reading. I devour books. I got a nook from Barnes & Noble for Christmas in 2009 and it might be one of my favorite gifts ever. It’s always exciting to me to discover new characters that really get inside your head and open you up to new worlds or help you realize something new about the one we’re in now. I could try to do a favorite books post, but I don’t know how I could narrow it down. Honestly.

When I was living with the rents, my favorite morning was the day that the New York Times Bestseller Lists were published in the Enquirer. I liked getting ideas for what I could read next, though I confess I usually only looked at the fiction list. What can I say? I like to live in a fantasy. One day I found the title The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie which just sounds hilarious. And weird. I had no idea what it was about, but I was intrigued enough that when I got the nook, I put it on my wish list. And there it has sat for a year or so.

{source: Barnes and Noble}

Until a week ago.

Last week I went to Florida for my company’s annual conference and a mini vacation to visit the Sparks-France home. I hate flying so I’m always sure to bring extra reading material and a million distractions from the fact that I am inatubeflyingintheairwithtonsofpeople and it’salongwaytotheground…Ahem. I finally picked this one to accompany me. And it is brilliant. So much in fact, that I read it in a few days, bought the sequel, also read it in a few days, and am currently on number three in the series.

The book’s narrator and main character is Flavia de Luce, an ingenious and beguiling 11 year old chemist with a knack for finding herself in the middle of murder investigations. With two mean older sisters, a deceased mother, and an absent stamp-collecting father, she finds her self-worth through using her rationality to solve these puzzles in her English countryside village. The series is set post-World War II and is full of amazingly rich and accurate historical details. She’s a complex character and I love the idea of a child voice experiencing and dictating these adult situations.

E says I just love anything with a series, but it’s really more than that in this case (it’s at least not young adult, right?)! I am not ready to give up this character!!!

If you like creative murder mysteries and historical fiction, pick this one!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading book club: the sweetness at the adventures of kt + e.

meta

