kt inspiration: kate spade

January 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

As a designer, I find inspiration from many different places – other designers, interiors, event design, fashion, music, photography/fine art. But I really love it when I can find different facets of inspiration from one source. Enter today’s source: Kate Spade.

If I could have one person dress me for the rest of my life, it would be Kate Spade. Her “about page” says it all: utility, wit and playful sophistication. Her motto of sorts this year is “live colorfully,” which I love. It’s such a designer-y way of saying “live boldly,” or, “live passionately,” but it really speaks to me. Not to mention that each month this year, they will pick a new color to “live.” I really love it.

You could say I have a girl crush.

I noticed a week or two ago, this little treasure:

source: kate spade

It’s a little “book” on the site that is so adorably designed (how great is the magenta page with the ampersand? I would totally frame that.) It got me thinking about what sort of mood boards I could divine from the theme of “living colorfully.” I’ll post one board here, and present the others tomorrow. Just for giggles.

The first here is probably the most obvious when it comes to Kate Spade and what she designs, though it might be my favorite right now. Inspired by Miss B, I am feeling this urge to create a personal style for myself as an adult. Sadly, it’s time to leave college “style” behind. I’m purging what doesn’t work for me anymore, and only buying what feels right and feels like it is the clothing of the girl I want to be. This part is obviously very personal, as I know no one has exactly the same taste in fashion, but I love the playful sophistication (with a hint of Mad Men vintage) in this mood board:

source: kate spade and style me pretty

I love the simple, classic clothing mixed with bright and whimsical accessories like the colorful tights and enamel flower pins. The owl purse had me at hello. What I also love about this is that though some pieces are “on trend” (read: tights), most are timeless and perfect in their proportions, thus, can be worn and remixed for seasons without looking staid. So though I can’t afford Kate Spade (tear), I have begun to think about these looks as I shop. Most recently, I found this adorable blue color-blocked dress and bright, lemon yellow sweater that fit perfectly in this theme. Though not at the same time.

That might be living too colorfully.

Until tomorrow…kt

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading kt inspiration: kate spade at the adventures of kt + e.

meta

