11 for 11: goal number five

January 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

Since clearly I lost all of my Type A personality traits after high school (and after seeing Black Swan) I am going out of order on these new year goals. I picked number five to start because I could take the first step, inspiration and design, without spending any money (go goal #1!)

For those who don’t remember, goal #5 is to finish the office so we have a workspace. Seems harmless enough. Consider this though: right now the office is a veritable sea of discarded crap. It is our home’s Island of Misfit…Everything. It is nearly impossible to walk from the door to the opposite wall. Or to the closet. Or to the window. You get the picture. Convenient because there is no way I’m providing a picture of my slovenliness for the interwebs’ viewing pleasure.

We are in desperate need of storage and organization. One day it took me 30 minutes to find our home warranty information to call a plumber. If it had needed something in a real emergency? I shudder.

So today is step one in the re-do, and probably the most fun step besides the shopping step which will probably come much later in the year and will be spread out into multiple shopping trips. Sad I know, but such is life after college we’ve come to figure out. Have I mentioned how much I hate 2011 goal #1?

First up: The color inspiration board and the images that inspired the palette.

My first inspiration for this room came from the movie (500) Days of Summer. Wonderful movie. If you haven’t seen it, I wholeheartedly recommend it. The main character has a chalkboard wall in his bedroom as you can see above. I love this idea for an office because you can scribble to do lists and inspiration and doodle some logo designs…whatever you want. I imagine the chalkboard wall to be on the “long” wall of the room with the desk in front of it, facing the middle of the room. I can’t wait to have this area to brainstorm.

The picture of the buttons is what inspired the color palette. I love the soothing blues, greens, the pattern with white, and the pop of red. That would be the spice color, DAAPkids. The green will go on the remaining walls and of course, I already picked out which color I want on my last trip to Lowe’s. Maybe the A-type is coming back.

While the rest of the furniture in our house (at least what we have purchased, not inherited) is decidedly mid-century modern, my goal for the furniture in the office is to go a bit more traditional in shape, while staying modern in the materials. The perfect example of this is the Louis Ghost chair that is so formal and traditional in shape, but made of clear acrylic. It haunts me.

One other part of this room I find very important is creating a “loungespace.” I really, really want an Eames rocker to go in one of the corners for little mental breaks throughout the day. With a bookshelf and this little baby (my alternative to a file cabinet) nearby, I can imagine curling up for a nice long book-reading session. Perfect for the relaxed elegance of the space, and perfectly in line with the mid-century influence of the house. I don’t think I will ever completely give it up, HAHAHA. Plus, not to get too far ahead in our newlywed life, but eventually this tiny room will probably become a nursery IN THE VERY DISTANT FUTURE, and obviously if I can kill a few birds with one design, I will do it now to avoid extra work when I might be growing a tiny human.

There are no tiny human growth plans in the works for now or the next few years. I just wanted to get that out there.

Anyway, that tangent is over. I really love the play in texture on the pillows and the fun, typographically-focused artwork and I think the red and white are just enough to keep the room fresh and vibrant and not pastel-hell.

This is just a random collection of images, but all bring out elements of the room design. You can even see the TROLLSTA painted a vibrant yellow. I would imagine after awhile ours would turn coral. Just saying. It makes it look soo much more modern and unique, non? The white patterned lattices in the first picture are amazingly beautiful and the gray cabinet with aqua shelves really prove to me that you can re-purpose furniture in the most surprising ways.

I had to add in the gratuitous kid playing with the chalkboard wall pic. What kid WOULDN’T love to be allowed to draw on the walls?!?

So that’s the office dream. Obviously it requires a lot of saving money and work on our part, but I think it will be so calm and elegant and practical for the work we would do in the end. What do you think about the room mood boards? A good direction for us to take?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to 11 for 11: goal number five

  • Cathie says:

    Love the “Keep Calm Carry On” sign. I’ve actually purchased that in magenta for our laundry room 🙂 I figure a nice pop of magenta with the poster in a black or white frame will be nice against the yellow painted walls 🙂 maybe we can talk interior design over wine sans maris? 😀

    • kt says:

      i heart that poster…it’s so hard for me to wait to make these changes to the house!!! i’m missing the patience gene. i would love a wine night! call me when can you sneak away from the thesis!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 11 for 11: goal number five at the adventures of kt + e.

meta

