11 for 2011

January 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

I like resolutions. I really do. There is something about the start of a new year that brings hope and a promise of potential. Even if I never keep my resolutions, I like them. E doesn’t like them. His resolution is “to never set resolutions.” So far he’s keeping it well.

This year, I thought I would make a list of goals, some of them for me and some of them for the both of us. 2010 was a pretty good year for us, and I want to make sure this year is just as fun and productive. It’s time to be bold!

  1. Get control of our finances.
    This one is a toughie for me us. 2010 was rough on our finances and we have debt where we didn’t have debt before. It’s scary and neither of us like it, but I’m glad it’s out there. Now we’ve said it, and we can start moving forward. Some action steps: Freeze unnecessary spending in January (only bills and essentials), Track spending for a few months to notice patterns and places we can save, Pay our debt off by the end of the year, Save save save, and research/start investing. This is one goal I don’t like, but it has to happen. I already miss shopping.
  2. Read 12 books that challenge me.
    It is no secret that I love to read. I really, really love it. I would rather read all day on the couch than watch tv, much to the chagrin of e. But, I read books that aren’t necessarily challenging me in any way. It is pure entertainment. I will read one book a month that is not contemporary fiction and write a review of said book here.
  3. Take cooking classes.
    This is a fun one for us! Neither of us can cook really well so we end up having the same things over and over again, week after week. It’s boring. Hopefully, taking some classes will help us branch out and feel comfortable using our cookbooks on a regular basis.
  4. Get involved with a charity on a regular and committed basis.
    Not sure which one yet, but this one’s pretty straightforward.
  5. Finish the home office so we have a place to devote to work.
    This one is also a no-brainer. We’d like to have a place that can function for us if we decide to go back to school or work from home. The couch (our option right now) will not suffice. Also, we need a file cabinet. Desperately.
  6. Paint something to hang on the wall.
    I’m not the greatest of fine artists, but I miss having a creative outlet other than my work. It would be nice to have something special to show off! Have you seen David Bromstad’s work? It’s gorgeous and exactly what I am envisioning. Graphic, colorful, fun.
  7. Document our life together on the blog and through photography.
    E and I both love photography, but lack the tools to learn more about it and enjoy it. I’ve taken classes before, but besides my point-and-shoot, haven’t worked with cameras in years. Hopefully this blog can be an outlet for us to preserve our memories in words and photos.
  8. Participate in NaNoWriMo, aka National Novel Writing Month.
    This one is kind of a fun challenge, just like #6. It’s purely a creative outlet. Although this isn’t until November, I want to start building an outline, characterization,  and all of that throughout the year. Who knows? If it’s good it might lead me somewhere! Here’s more info.
  9. Run a half marathon and ride a century.
    My original goal was to run another full marathon, but I am going to be frank-I just don’t want to. It’s too much time to train and too much stress on my body. I have injured myself both times I’ve attempted to run a full and I just can’t do it again. Especially since I don’t want to do it alone. Sorry Betsy! So this year my athletic goals are a bit smaller. I will run the Flying Pig half (will be my fifth half marathon) in early May and ride a century (100 miles) with e, probably late summer. These of course will still be quite difficult as I am nowhere near in fighting shape! Just ask E how our bike ride went this past weekend. Hint: It wasn’t pretty. Guess I better get running!
  10. Purge my closet and donate clothes I don’t wear.
    Sadly, this one is a kt-only goal. Self-explanatory. This also applies to the other closets in the house. How we have junk cluttering our lives after less than a year in our house, I will never know.
  11. Deep clean our house once a month.
    I know this may gross some of you out. Once a month you say? That’s not enough! Sad to say, it will be more than we did in 2010. I know! I threw up a little in my mouth too! Once a month we will: vacuum, dust, clean the bathrooms, bleach the kitchen, mop, all of that. Of course we will also do mini-cleaning throughout the month. How gross are we? (My secret hope is that e will read this and magically create a goal where he puts all his dirty clothes in the hamper everyday and hangs up everything else! The power of positive thinking!)
  12. The extra one! Create a new holiday tradition.
    Living near our entire families is awesome. We wouldn’t have it any other way. But it does mean that during the holidays we kinda rush from house to house and don’t plan anything for the two of us. This year I hope we can do something special. Maybe we’ll start hosting an egg nog cocktail party. Maybe it’s as simple as going to Fesitval of Lights to remember where we were engaged. Who knows. It’s a long time from now!

So there’s the list. I hope I didn’t lose you in there!

kt

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 11 for 2011 at the adventures of kt + e.

meta

